The Top 10 Worst Worship Songs

Admit it, there are some horrible worship songs out there. I cringe every time I visit other churches and hear them singing. So I thought it would be expedient of me to make a list of the worst worship songs in hopes you’ll see what I see – and perhaps the church will be a bit better for hearing this. So without further adieu…

  1. Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) – First of all, what’s up with the parenthesis? I just call it Amazing Grace. Secondly, the verses suck! They sound so outdated. The chorus is alright, but what the heck is a wretch? You might as well just sing a hymn if you’re going to sing a song with such outdated lyrics.
  2. Marvelous Light – So maybe this isn’t a horrible song. But congregations everywhere are ruining it – especially the bridge. If I see one more person lift their hands and spin around during the bridge, I might have to kick them in the face.
  3. You Never Let Go – Um…Titanic rip off?
  4. Forever, I Could Sing of Your Love Forever, and Glory to God Forever – I get it, it’s clever to repeat the word “forever” over and over. But enough already!
  5. Open the Eyes of My Heart – Besides being the oldest song known to man, what a creepy visual. A heart with eyes? Try to get that image out of your head.
  6. Your Grace is Enough – Every single bass player that plays this song makes it sound more like “I’m in the Lord’s Army”. No sir!
  7. How Great is Our God – There’s only really one reason I hate this song. It’s needy. “Sing with me…” It’s like a a comedian telling his audience to laugh.
  8. Everlasting God – That line, “You’re the defender of the weak.” I get it, but it sounds like a football award. Defender of the week. Weird.

So those are my top ten least favorite worship songs. What song would you add to the list?

7 thoughts on “The Top 10 Worst Worship Songs

  1. The first one is a classic hymn written by John Newton- a former slave trader. ‘Wretch’ doesn’t begin to describe what all of us are. Chris Tomlin only added the chorus a couple hundred years after the hymn was written. Your post is really ungracious. I pray God will change your heart.

  2. I have to agree with Tim and ABK. At least be biblical. I’d understand this point of view if it was a 6th grader who struggled to fit in, but nothing else. Either you’ll grow in grace and love and be able to look back and laugh at yourself as you become wiser (which I do constantly) , or leave “worship leading” altogether because it’s not what you thought it was, and it was never truly real to you. I’ve been doing this for a while, and I’ve seen many “leaders” come and go, but I hope you choose the first outcome.

    Best wishes

Leave a Reply

